What do you do for a living?

Comments

• criverajr
    criverajr Posts: 1,675
    edited June 2006
    Regional Sales Manager for Major Pharmacuetical CO. with offices in Miami Lakes and NJ.

CRJ
  • dave shepard
    dave shepard Posts: 1,334
    edited June 2006
    I'm an autobody tech. (total dead end profession) for the last 18yrs and have a after hour decorative concrete business (landscape curbing, colored and stamped concrete). Here is a pic of my work.

Dave
  • Polkersince85
    Polkersince85 Posts: 2,883
    edited June 2006
    Manufacturing Engineer for the Major agriculture equipment products company. Also owner/operator of a small pine tree plantation.
    >
    >
    >This message has been scanned by the NSA and found to be free of harmful intent.<
  • Demiurge
    Demiurge Posts: 10,874
    edited June 2006
    audiobliss wrote:
    Sounds a lot like Snap-On Tools. My dad's been with Snap-On for 32 years now, as a dealer most of the time, and a field-manager for 3 years earlier on. Neat stuff y'all design/fabricate. How much 'engineering' goes into designing something to a customer's requests and then producing the actual piece?

Depends on the product. I'm not an engineer, so I can't tell you what's all involved, but they get the job done every time.

It just involves the customer/distributor calling us up and giving us their specs. We usually run them through all of the usual questions:

Raised Height
    Lowered Height
    How much travel, etc.
    Casters? Floor Mounted? Pit Mounted?
    Manual or Powered? Hydraulic, Pneumatic, Electric.
    Deck size?
    Tooling options, etc.

The list is pretty much endless as you can do just about anything. After we have all of that info we get them a drawing and a quote and hopefully they sign off on it and place an order.
  • BlueMDPicker
    BlueMDPicker Posts: 7,569
    edited June 2006
    My (nick)name is Winston Wolf. I fix things.
  • tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,950
    edited June 2006