Spearker cables..fact or fiction?

Options

Comments

• BlueFox
    BlueFox Posts: 15,251
    edited March 2009
    Options
    ...I guess I should quit upgrading my system.

ComfortablyNumb, have you ever bought anything? I think you have the record for posting "I am thinking of getting a <fill in the blank>." ;)

I like these kinds of threads because once you filter out the useless posts (STFU, etc.) it is possible to learn something, if you take the time and effort.

As an engineer I can certainly appreciate from a theoretical perspective how the electrical characteristics of a cable can influence its sound. However, I really was not prepared for the amount of influence a cable can make.

I operated for the longest time with the belief that the bigger cable was better since the resistance was lower, and when I upgraded to 12 gauge hardware store bulk cable I was able to tell a difference in both the home theater and stereo. However, thanks to threads like this, I finally decided to break down, and try something different.

I purchased a set of MapleShade “Clearview Double Golden Helix Speaker Cables - Plus option”, and was completely blown away by the improvement over 12 gauge twisted copper. These things are solid wire, and must be 18 or 20 gauge, yet the sound is clearer, more precise, more open, seems to have a wider dynamic range, and frequency response. Of course, this is all subjective since I have no measuring equipment, but it does exist. It literally was like upgrading a major component in the system.

Obviously, at least to me, wire can make a difference. Unfortunately for me, this means I will need to spend more money in the future “researching” speaker cables, but at least I am happy for now.

http://www.mapleshaderecords.com/audioproducts/doublehelixspeakercable.php
    Lumin X1 file player, Westminster Labs interconnect cable
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD; Pass XP-22 pre; X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers; SPOD spikes