705's whether to amp?

Greetings. New to Polk and dove in on a holiday sale and might have bit off more than I can chew. I'm also new to high end audio so please bear with me. I've replaced my old AVR with a HDMI Denon AVR-X4400h. I picked up the 705 towers and 706c center. I'm starting to slowly build my HT.

I'm reading everyone recommending external amplification with these speakers. I've plugged the numbers into the Peak SPL calculator below. If the speakers are rated for 88dB with 20 watt min 250 watt max. The receiver seems to be able to achieve 105 dB at 13 feet with 3 speakers plugged into the calculator. So would it be overkill to run these on an external amp? I've considered adding a Emotiva XPA-3 to help drive the Left, Center and Right channels. I do plan to add a subwoofer and surrounds later. What sound characteristics if any would I be missing not using amplification?

http://myhometheater.homestead.com/splcalculator.html

Comments

• I recently purchased the exact same combination of speakers and AVR that you have and have discussed this matter briefly in a thread I created so I'll link you to that as it may helpful.

https://forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/184685/lsim-center-channel-and-front-stage-advice-needed#latest

I can't really comment on the sound characteristics, but the difference between 3 speakers @ 125w (x4400h) and 3 speakers @ 275w (XPA3) on that calculator is 3.4dB so you're not gonna blow your windows out.

The main reason I am considering an external amp for my LCR speakers is that it will leave more power available to other speakers connected to the AVR and allow me to take full advantage of the processing power of the x4400h. The Denon x4400h only has a 710w power supply so connecting 7 or 9 speakers will cause the speakers to see FAR less than the 125w Denon claims. Not to mention, if you're using the AVRs bi-amping assignment for the 705s that only leaves you with the capability of 7.1 without an external amp.