WTF is going on with society today?

Comments

• BaggedLancer
    BaggedLancer Posts: 6,371
    edited May 2007
    markmarc wrote: »

My son is now 22, all of his friends but one have turned out to be dedicated, positive adults.

What qualifies as a dedicated, positive adult in your eyes? Maybe some people just have too high of standards..... I'm not being negative, just curious what in your opinion makes someone a deciated, positive adult.
  • hearingimpared
    hearingimpared Posts: 21,137
    edited May 2007
    Funny, how we can fault in all, based upon the actions of a few. As a teacher, I see them at their most positive, average, and negative moments. Sure, some run around thinking they are entitled, but at the same time, I see others busting it every day. I also see how many are willing to help a teacher, parent, etc. when asked.

let us not forget how many 18-22 year olds are in the military dealing with 9/11 in Afghanistan, and the mess in Iraq.

Most will turn out just fine, some with struggle like with any generation, and a few will end up in prison. I remember my parents saying the same thing about kids in my generation. My son is now 22, all of his friends but one have turned out to be dedicated, positive adults.

I admit to using some blanket statements here.

My older son is 23 and I couldn't be more proud of him. Most of his friends are the same as my boy but I think that is because he is choosey about his company another trait that he learned from me and I learned from my Pop.
  • Bill Ayotte
    Bill Ayotte Posts: 1,860
    edited May 2007
    Funny, how we can fault in all, based upon the actions of a few. As a teacher, I see them at their most positive, average, and negative moments. Sure, some run around thinking they are entitled, but at the same time, I see others busting it every day. I also see how many are willing to help a teacher, parent, etc. when asked.