lism speakers out of phase, says yamaho recevier. Help

Options
christper2000
christper2000 Posts: 14
edited October 2013 in Troubleshooting
hi I'm a newbie here.
I purchase 2 lsim 703 speakers and 1 lsim 76c center speaker. I also purchase a Yamaha a3030 av receiver.
When I the auto calibration on the receiver it give me a warning that the left and right lsim 703 and the lsim 706c speakers are out of phase the to reverse the the speaker wires. I made sure the wires are correct + to + and - to -. I bi amp the front left and right speakers and the lsim center is bi wired. I don't know what to do. I actually tried to which the wires to + to - and - to + and when I did this the receiver says they are correct with no warning even though the which the wire wrong to see what happens. Does these speakers suppose to be out of phase. Both ways the sound is good but I don't what is good sound from theses.
Please help me out this issue I am having.

thanks
Chris
Post edited by christper2000 on

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,875
    edited September 2013
    Options
    Did you check that the connections on the back of your AVR are in phase with the connections to the speakers?

You are not bi-amping squat with an AVR. Real Bi-amping requires separate amps, each with its own power supply, not a shared one like your AVR. Bi-amping also requires the use of active crossovers. In addition, the more channels that you use, the less power per channel the AVR can supply. Your AVR is rated at 150wpc with only 2 channels driven.

Specs from Yamaha,
    150 W per channel (8 ohms, 20 Hz-20 kHz, 0.06% THD, 2 ch driven)
    Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• nguyendot
    nguyendot Posts: 3,594
    edited September 2013
    Options