Group Buy '16: Dreadnought Avel Lindberg 1000VA Isolation Transformers

Comments

• heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,053
    Thanks guys, see this is why I wanted a detailed write up. I had no idea we'd need these little things as I've never done one before. I don't happen to have some of this stuff around.

Any other little tid bits you can remember
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass Pass Labs XA25 | EE Avant Pre | EE Mini Max Supreme DAC | MIT Shotgun S1 | Pangea AC14SE MKII | Legend L600 | BlueSound Node 3 - Tubes add soul!
  • agfrost
    agfrost Posts: 2,421
    edited January 2017
    Jesse's build thread was food for my planning. Picture shows the grouping of wires from the A-L transformer and the connectors Jesse (and I in his fashion) used to connect Xformer to Neutrik:

http://forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/142058/a-slightly-different-take-on-the-dreadnought/p1

Connector Needs:
    1) Stainless Steel Bolt/washers/lockwashers/nut(s)--for mounting transformer to case. Needs to be non-magnetic stainless.
    2) Screws/washers/nuts for fastening Neutrik connectors to case & speaker terminal cups

Am I missing anything? Get 'em all on a single Fastenal order for one-shipping price.

Heck--here's a screenshot of *my* Fastenal order. I strongly recommend vetting this against other build threads to check on stuff I haven't thought about in 3 years--like "is that bolt the right size?" I suspect it is, but do some extra homework before ordering what I'm currently 85% sure is what I installed...

Screen%20Shot%202017-01-26%20at%204.24.19%20PM_zpsmyuuxevf.png