Digital Interconnect Cables - What's Your Experience?

124»

Comments

• OleBoot
    OleBoot Posts: 2,065
    I have never owned any systems that were above mid-fi, and have found that different S/PDIF cables can make a more than subtle difference. I have no experience with USB connected DACs . However, I would expect that cables would make far less difference for an an asynchronous USB connected DAC (which applies to most high and medium end DACs nowadays) as the DAC is in charge of the clock and jitter is vastly reduced. S/PDIF is a flawed interface from the start, as nobody back then even considered word clock jitter when it was designed, let alone the effects cable differences (particularly capacitance) or cable induced noise could have on it.
  • tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,902
    I don't think there is any one connection that doesn't have some sort of flaw attached, or possibility of one.

Music, from that first pluck of a guitar string to the first breath into those horns is by nature analog. Anything done after degrades the sound to some degree I would imagine. Nuthin' like sitting 10 feet away from a sax in a smoke filled bourbon smelling room in my book.

Master analog tapes...R2R....Vinyl.....is about as good as it gets portraying that musical environment. Anyone who grew up with it, knows the difference between digital. The closest we've yet to come is SACD or DSD files now, but then we still rely on cables and circuits to carry everything to the speakers, which by itself is another animal.

That's why the purist in audio will tell you do no harm....keep it simple stupid, less is more. The longer a signal stays in the digital domain, the more harm is done.