i need help !

98thumpin
98thumpin Posts: 649
edited March 2006 in Car Audio & Electronics
heya yall im new to this car audio stuff but i love polk and i love music? im getting a new system it will be a panasonic CQ-C7301U head unit. i am going to have two polk db690 6" W x 9" L for my rear deck, and two polk db570 5" W x 7" L for the front doors. ok do i need dynamatt if so how much will it run approx?. also im getting a mono amp and a sub i want the polk db212-2 subbox but i dont know what kinda of amp ill need to run these bad boys would a 500 watt amp do it or do i need a 1000 watt amp will the polk C500.1 Monoblock do the trick or do i need two of them. and will my head unit have enough power to run the speakers its a 50 x 4 head unit
thanks
please help me
tyler
John Tyler Birch

home audio system:

Denon avr-1907
Sony dvd/cd changer 5 disc
nakamichi BX-100 tape deck
2 Polk Audio monitor 70's
Velodyne DPS-12 subwoofer
RCA TV
NAK 600 tape deck
Monster power line conditioning power center
Post edited by 98thumpin on

Comments

• neomagus00
    neomagus00 Posts: 3,899
    edited February 2006
    humm... do you NEED dynamat, no, but more is better... if you notice rattles, especially with the sub, or if you want to decrease road noise, dynamat extreme or Second Skin is the way to go...

the db box wants 720 watts, and the 500.1 is rated at 500... however, tests have shown it capable of up to nearly 700, but you don't want to count on that... it has only one set of terminals that reads 2 ohms, so you can't strap 2 amps on that... i think that this kicker amp would fit the bill... it's gonna be hard to keep the cost down on 600+ watts, but i think that's a decent buy...

as far as your headunit, it's not really 50x4, that's a peak value, and peak values are worthless... the HU is actually more like 11 to 15 watts per channel, which will move the speakers, but an amplifier will truly open them up (both in quality and volume)...