Larry's rings

Options
dhart86
dhart86 Posts: 1,594
edited September 2012 in Vintage Speakers
I am in the process of upgrading my SDA 1c's. Rdo 194's - installed! modded crossovers-will be installed soon. However, I am new to this upgrading stuff and want to do this right. While I have the drivers out, I am also considering applying Dynamat (which I have no clue on what I need to be doing) and I thought about installing Larry's ring's

So this will probably sound like the newbie question that it is, but what are the main benefits to installing Larry's rings to these vintage speakers. Also, is there a thread or instructions to help with installing.

I didn't want to bother Larry right now because I'm sure he's real busy processing orders and such, but I know there's alot of experience and expertise in this forum.

Any and all help (insight) is appreciated. Help the new guy do it right! Thanx
Main Rig:
Antipodes DX > Roon > PS Audio Directstream Jr.>deHavilland Ultraverve 3 >Belles Reference 150a >Harbeth C7 ES3

Second Rig:
Roon> PS Audio Directstream Jr Bridge II > EE Minimax pre (Tutay mods) >Belles 150A Ref >Monitor 5 (Westmassguy-modded)

Post edited by dhart86 on

Comments

• chumlie
    chumlie Posts: 8,658
    edited July 2012
    Options
    Darkknight did a detailed writeup & install instructions. Its here somewhere.
  • yeahbuddy
    yeahbuddy Posts: 115
    edited July 2012
    Options
    The main benefit of the rings is the ability to do all the tweaks you're talking about without the concern of stipping away the threads on the speaker baffle when you're removing and re-installing the drivers and passive radiators. Since Larry's rings are metal you don't have to worry about stripping the threads, ensuring that you'll be able to reattach the drivers firmly and get good gasket seating to seal the cabinet.

I know there's a few good threads for instructions on installing these guys, I didn't have much trouble when installing them on my SDA1A's.
  • dhart86