Picking up RTA-12Cs

I am going to check out some RTA-12C this week. I am new to Polk and vintage speakers, though I've restored a few vintage amps. I am looking for advice on what to look for, issues to look out for, and advice on transporting them. Thanks for any advice you may have.

Comments

• CH46E
    CH46E Posts: 3,521
    Make sure the drivers move freely. No voice coil rub when you easily push them in them. Like any other speaker, just make sure they sound good and all the drivers work and adjust your offer accordingly.

Fyi, the 6 1/2" woofers are crossed over at different frequencies. So if you put your ear up to one woofer it will not sound the same as the other. This is normal.

Not sure how much you know about the 12C but that big flat woofer is actually a passive radiator.

Once you have them we can give you a lot more info on them. There are some guys here that know them very very well.

I have the 12B. Very happy with them and the 12C is supposed to be even better.

Welcome to Polk Forums!
  • CH46E
    Oh and as far as transporting them. I'd lay them flat on thier back with some cushion and careful driving. If you put them on thier side you run a risk of a magnet shifting that causes voice coil rub.
  • bobdod
    bobdod Posts: 16
    Well, I wound up getting them. Looked pretty much brand new, all drivers worked, and they sounded pretty good. They are 12Bs though, not Cs like I thought, or at least they are labeled as Bs. A few photos are below. I have not set them up yet.
    jxr4by80l76s.jpeg
    bvpuhuxcnkoc.jpeg
    l9g2q2cubbu0.jpeg
  • CH46E
    You got yourself some nice speakers. Make sure you set them up right. One is for left side and one for right. Designated by "R" and "L" on the labels on the back. You pictured your right speaker.

Did you get the hats with them?

The crossover you pictured, is it disconnected and sitting in a box?
  • Nightfall
    Nightfall Posts: 10,042
    That or a homemade cardboard top hat 😂