Greenhorn questions

Hi Guys,

I'm not just new to the forum - I'm also a novice in hi-fi and electronics in general.
I'm hoping to get a few basic questions answered here.

My Dad is shipping me his original Monitor Model 5 speakers, from 1978 or 1979.
From what I've seen here, changing all the parts in the crossovers seems like a good starter project for me. (I'm just learning to solder!)

Even though I've seen a bunch of pictures here, I still don't know the answer to a few questions:

1. Is the crossover board a printed circuit, or is it just a piece of material with holes in it for the leads of the components to go through?

2. Do you just twist the leads of the different components together and solder them, or is there more technique involved?

Those two answers should get me started, so thanks to anyone that can answer those.

Comments

• F1nut
    F1nut Posts: 49,708
    Welcome to Club Polk.

It's printed on the bottom side. The component leads go through holes in the board and are soldered there. You can Google pictures of the boards if you can't wait to see them in person. Don't be twisting stuff, never a good idea.

Political Correctness'.........defined

"A doctrine fostered by a delusional, illogical minority and rabidly promoted by an unscrupulous mainstream media, which holds forth the proposition that it is entirely possible to pick up a t-u-r-d by the clean end."

President of Club Polk

• Astrl55
    Astrl55 Posts: 54
    edited March 2020
    Thank you President F1Nut.

How did you know I couldn't stand the wait?!

BTW - I searched Google up one side and down the other, looking in vain for even a single image of the non-component side of the circular crossover board.
  • F1nut
    Not much to see on the bottom just traces and solder points.