Chord DAC's

I'm looking to try another DAC. I've been keeping an eye on the 2Qute & the Qutest. Any one with 1st hand experience with either DAC. Other suggestions also welcomed.
"2 Channel & 11.2 HT "Two Channel:Magnepan LRSSchiit Audio Freya S - SS preConsonance Ref 50 - Tube preParasound HALO A21+ 2 channel ampBluesound NODE 2i streameriFi NEO iDSD DAC Oppo BDP-93KEF KC62 sub Home Theater:Full blown 11.2 set up.

Comments

• mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,032
    edited March 2020
    I'm curious on your goal with a new DAC? I have plenty of experience with many different DAC's. The 2 you listed however I never even heard of them. I'll have to get my Google on and check them out.
    The NAD D1050 you have is a pretty awesome DAC.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
  • marvda1
    marvda1 Posts: 4,862
    this dac was compared to the top of the line chord dave dac. it has 168 pages here.
    https://www.head-fi.org/threads/l-k-s-audio-mh-da004-dual-es9038pro-dac-van-dammes-double-impact.840938/
    Amplifiers: Norma IPA 140, MasterSound Compact 845, Ayre v6xe, Consonance Cyber 800
    Preamp: deHavilland Ultraverve 3
    Dac: Sonnet Morpheus 2, Musical Paradise mp-d2 mkIII
    Transport: Jay's Audio CDT2 mk2, Lumin U1 mini
    Speakers: Rosso Fiorentino Volterra II
    Speaker Cables: Organic Audio Organic Reference 2
    Interconnects: Argento Organic Reference 2, Argento Organic 2
    Power Cables: Argento Organic Reference, Synergistic Research Foundation 10 and 12 ga.
    Puritan PSM156
  • tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,902
    Nice to see ya Phil, don't be such a stranger.

No direct experience with the Chord dacs but have heard a few. At times to my ears they can sound a wee bit bass heavy. Very analog sound to them though. No listener fatigue with them.
    HT SYSTEM-
    Sony 850c 4k
    Pioneer elite vhx 21
    Sony 4k BRP
    SVS SB-2000
    Polk Sig. 20's
    Polk FX500 surrounds

Cables-