Building the AI-1 dreadnought

I'm considering building a dreadnought. I've spent many hours reading countless threads and since I'm not an electrical engineer my head has started spinning. The original DIY instructions (from Ken Swauger at Polk) suggested a usage of three small and cheap transformers. In most of the more recent threads people seem to bee mostly using big and expensive Avel Lindberg transformers in projects costing hundreds of dollars. Being a cheap person I wonder why. Why didn't Polk suggest these huge AV transformers in the first place if there is a world of difference in sound quality? According to the 1000VA group buy thread it's even a whole lot of difference between the 800VA and 1000VA. I have a hard time figuring out what specs are important and what impact each has on sound quality. Is bigger automatically better? When do you start overspeccing? Is really more copper the better, one would assume that in many ways that less stuff put in the signal path would be better.

So, if I was to build an AI-1 interface and wasn't willing to spend $300-$400, what are my options? Are there lesser (cheaper) Avel Lindberg transformers I can use? Should I just try to find an original AI-1 cable for sale, or build one from one of the suggested transformers (if I can find their discontinued replacements)?

At the moment I have my SRS 1.2TL biamped using two NAD C272 power amps (2x150W @ 8ohms ). I'm planning to bridge them (400W@8ohms) since I think I would gain more from the added power than from biamping.

So for a cheap guy, what's the sensible thing to do?
1. Do nothing - keep the biamp setup
2. Build a "sensibly" priced AI-1 interface
3. Sell a kidney to build (or buy) a 1000VA dreadnought

SRS 1.2 TL | SDA 2B Studio TL | NAD M51 preamp/dac | DIY SET 300B tube amplifier | Cambridge Audio Azur 851W | Chromecast Audio | RoPieee Roon Raspberry Pi endpoint

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,474