Stupid things you hear from the DBT/Null test crowd....

Comments

• nwohlford
    nwohlford Posts: 700
    edited April 2012
    As a statistician, I find a lot of this pretty funny. It is nice to have interests outside your area of expertise, but one must always remember that they are not an expert in that other field. Maybe DarqueKnight has some expertise in the area of testing with human subjects/observers, but I don't see any claim of that (nor evidence in his opinions). This would be like me reading a few electrical engineering journal articles and claiming some expertise. Expertise in any field such testing with human subjects really requires years of concentrated study/work experience.

The idea of an unbiased observer is a myth. Biases (or preconceptions) are very basic to human decision making. One can try to reduce his/her own biases by being very honest about their biases and in a sense trying to correct for them. I can thinking of training listeners for preforming unblinded studies where a large part of the training would be learning your biases as a listener and learning how to try to minimize your biases.

I almost never use blinded testing in my own audio comparisons, but I am very careful about making any comments comparing two audio components. If I do state a preference for an audio component, I try to state the limitations of any comparisons made.

Realistically, some of the enjoyment we get out of audio has nothing to do with sound. It partly has to do with the look of the components, how owning some brand name makes us feel, and so on. This is true of any hobby, and to trying to remove it from the equation often will remove the fun. I think that everybody should buy what allows them to enjoy the hobby. One though has to be carefully when making sweeping comments about whether a certain component will improve somebody else's experience.
  • Syndil
    Syndil Posts: 1,582
    edited April 2012
    heiney9 wrote: »