buying a guitar

POLKOHOLIC
POLKOHOLIC Posts: 407
edited August 2007 in The Clubhouse
im looking to buy a guitar. i have never played and just want to learn a bit by reading some books. i do not know anyone who plays a guitar.

basically, i'm looking for a 100-150 dollar acoustic guitar. used is fine. also, any tips on what an absolute noob like me should look out for. i know there are 6 string and 12 string guitars available and assume that 6 is what im looking for. i want to buy online and don't really want to go out and buy from a shop. something that has good reviews and is an awesome value.
Post edited by POLKOHOLIC on

Comments

• SLOCOOKN
    SLOCOOKN Posts: 704
    edited August 2007
    POLKOHOLIC wrote: »
    im looking to buy a guitar. i have never played and just want to learn a bit by reading some books. i do not know anyone who plays a guitar.

basically, i'm looking for a 100-150 dollar acoustic guitar. used is fine. also, any tips on what an absolute noob like me should look out for. i know there are 6 string and 12 string guitars available and assume that 6 is what im looking for. i want to buy online and don't really want to go out and buy from a shop. something that has good reviews and is an awesome value.

You should buy from a local shop and befriend the owner and staff if you are even somewhat serious. They can fit you with a guitar and let you try several different designs.

Then you can stop in from time to time when you get bored and pick up free tips and good deals!
    :eek: From the bottom it looks like a steep incline, From the top another down hill slope of mine.:mad: But I know the equilibrium's there!:cool: .."Faith No More" :D
    Sony cx985v (for now)
    BBE 482i
    B&K AVP 1030
    Adcom GFA 555 mk 2
    AudioQuest Crystal 2 spk wire
    Nordost RCA
    SDA 3.1 tl RD0 tweets
    Belkin pf60
    Carver TFM 55x
    Signal Analog 2 RCA
    AudioQuestType 4
    VMPS Original Tall Boy (Mega Woofers soon)
  • POLKOHOLIC