SQ help

dolfan87
dolfan87 Posts: 114
edited February 2007 in Car Audio & Electronics
It's been quite some time since I posted in here. I have a 1970 Mach 1 Mustang that I have been restomodding for 6 years. It's just about complete, and I am gearing up to do the install on my system.

I am using the I.D. 12" D4 for a sub, and I.D. 5.25 2 ohm Chameleons with the I.D. tweets.

Amps are Polks, 500.1 for the sub, 400.4 for the components.

I have a set of passive x-overs from my old MB Quart components, and if I am not happy with the internal x-over on the 400.4, then I will use the Quarts.

I have quite a bit of experience in general car audio, but this is my first attempt at real staging, and imaging. I promise to be a sponge, and follow directions, as I really want this car to be top notch in every way.

Having said that, I will most likely never compete.

Now for my questions.

I have room in the doors for the components, and it would be the easiest for me as far as building the pods. However, if kick panel is truly the best way to go, I can make it work.

With the Chameleons, is it best for me to simply mount that tweeter on the mid, or am I going to get better results mounting it seperately?

Also, when aiming the speakers, can i just use the deck for power, or is it better for me to go hook up an amp?

I really appreciate any help with this.

Happy New Year!

Gram
1970 Mach 1: ///ALPINE DVA 9860 H.U and H701 processor. Image Dynamics CSX 52 components, and IDQ D4 Sub. Polk/Momo 400.4 and 500.1 amps.
Post edited by dolfan87 on

Comments

• MacLeod
    MacLeod Posts: 14,358
    edited December 2006
    The key to getting a great stage is to get the pathlength difference between the L and R speakers as close to equal as possible.