Are audiophile network switches a scam?

Options
2»

Comments

• mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,056
    Options
    invalid wrote: »
    I've read posts on other sites that claim every different brand switch tried had a different sound signature. It doesn't make sense but I have never tried different switches so I have no real experience.
    NO, that doesn't make any sense. Network switches do not have sonic signatures. Please don't go down this stupid road. Why does out hobby have to get flooded with the most nonsense out of any other hobby?
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
  • treitz3
    treitz3 Posts: 18,314
    Options
    mantis wrote: »
    Network switches do not have sonic signatures.

Dan, it was brought to my attention the other day that an EtherREGEN is "technically" a switch. This switch includes a "moat" (ADIM, which is short for Active Differential Isolation Moat). It also has a dual, isolated clock/data/power domains, blockage of all external leakage currents, a significant reduction in upstream phase-noise fingerprint, and maximal signal integrity.

Grounding components properly together can yield further noise reduction/energy dump and also allows the optional input of a master clock. All of which can be further refined by the use of LPS's and cables/PC's, etc.

All of these things have the "potential" to change the sonic attributes leading to the end unit. The one thing I have recently learned when it comes to network audio is that the rules have changed. What is common knowledge and established protocol are no more. It's a whole different ball game altogether.

I have heard the same exact cable in Trey's system make a huge difference in cleaning up the sound (to him and I both and it was immediately distinguishable), the only thing that changed was the length of the cable. Same brand, same cable metallurgies, same connectors, just a different length.