Car Audio Receiver

audiobliss
audiobliss Posts: 12,518
edited June 2004 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hello all. I'm totally new to car audio and don't want to really 'get into it'; I just need some help real quick. I've posted several times in the home audio section and am still in to that, but now I just got my first car (I'm 16) and it needs a receiver!!!!

I have a '95 Jeep Cherokee 2-door; I love it!!! :D Anyhoo...it just has a radio, and I'm lookin' to put a CD player in it. I've looked around mainly on Crutchfield's website and have pretty much decided I like Sony's CDX-F5700. Here's Crutchfield's page on that receiver.

I guess what I'm asking is, is this a good receiver? Should I look somewhere else? Should I run from their car receivers like I do from their home audio stuff?

I'll (hopefully) be upgrading the speakers down the road, but that'll be down the road, so I'll be using the stock speakers for a while.

Also, where should I look to get it? I definitely am not planning on installing it myself (though, if y'all think I could do it and could help me with some basic instructions, I might consider it), so I'd like to buy from a store that installs them. Though, I guess everywhere does now.

Any discussion on anything I've mentioned or anything you think is important is more than welcome; I will appreciate any comments. (Even if they're just about the Jeep :D )

Thanks.
Jstas wrote: »
Simple question. If you had a cool million bucks, what would you do with it?
Wonder WTF happened to the rest of my money.
In Use
PS3, Yamaha CDR-HD1300, Plex, Amazon Fire TV Gen 2
Pioneer Elite VSX-52, Parasound HCA-1000A
Klipsch RF-82ii, RC-62ii, RS-42ii, RW-10d
Epson 8700UB

In Storage
[Home Audio]
Rotel RCD-02, Yamaha KX-W900U, Sony ST-S500ES, Denon DP-7F
Pro-Ject Phono Box MKII, Parasound P/HP-850, ASL Wave 20 monoblocks
Klipsch RF-35, RB-51ii

[Car Audio]
Pioneer Premier DEH-P860MP, Memphis 16-MCA3004, Boston Acoustic RC520
Post edited by audiobliss on

Comments