Testify!

MacLeod
MacLeod Posts: 14,358
edited June 2004 in Car Audio & Electronics
I got a wild hair today and took my trusty Dream Theater test CD (Train of Thought) and went to my local Tweeter to compare Polk Momo with some hi end offerings from MB, JL and Boston Acoustic.

First let me say that this was in no way a scientific comparison. I didnt tweak any of the speakers X-overs and I only used one CD, plus Im no expert so you may want to break out a grain or two of salt.

Well let me just sum it up by saying, All Hail Polk Audio!

Fellas, our beloved Polk flat smoked everything Boston Acoustic had to offer. From the $119 to the $1000 set. No comparison.

I then moved to JL and, again, Polk smoked everything up to the XR series where they tied. They both sounded great but the Momos had a little more detail and were a bit warmer but JL had more midbass. But with the JLs at $380, Ill take the MM.

Next I went to MB. This was a little tougher. The Reference set was no competition. The MM was warmer and smoother with as much detail and with the Reference at $330 again Ill take the MM. The Premium was just as good. The MM was warmer but everything else was the same except for $580 price tag. The Q series however edged out the MM but not by much. Again, the MM was warmer and plenty smooth but the Q had an unreal amount of detail and was just as smooth. But here is the catch---
the Q retails for $1100!!!!!!!!!!!

Now if Tweeter just started carrying Focal and Dynaudio! Id love to compare those!
polkaudio sound quality competitor since 2005
MECA SQ Rookie of the Year 06 ~ MECA State Champ 06,07,08,11 ~ MECA World Finals 2nd place 06,07,08,09
08 Car Audio Nationals 1st ~ 07 N Georgia Nationals 1st ~ 06 Carl Casper Nationals 1st ~ USACi 05 Southeast AutumnFest 1st

polkaudio SR6500 --- polkaudio MM1040 x2 -- Pioneer P99 -- Rockford Fosgate P1000X5D
Post edited by MacLeod on

Comments

• Systems
    Systems Posts: 14,873
    edited May 2004