newbie with amping questions

Hello I'm new to higher end stereos and i have bought 4 polk rti12 speakers and a polk csi5 center and dswpro660wi sub. This is for my living room that is a octagon room that is 32 ft across with 12.5 ft tall walls and is 17 ft in the center. I've gathered that I need a receiver and a amp but don't know what I need. Any help would be appreciated.

Comments

• rc51matt
    rc51matt Posts: 39
    edited December 2014
  • polk500
    polk500 Posts: 1,171
    edited December 2014
    Hello rc and welcome to the club,

That's a beautiful room,quite large and well done by the way, but the rti12,s should have no problems handling it.

So knowing you need a AVR and an Amp suggest you've done some reading and you're right having both will go a long way in the enjoyment of listening to music and watching movies.

Deciding what AVR you want depends on how much you want to spend and how many features you want. Most of the top brand names newer models carry pretty well all the features you could want or need but if you go used check before you buy to insure it has the features you required. But whatever you choose it needs to have
    Pre-outs so you can hook up your amp.

As for the amp same as the AVR how much do you want to spend but the rule of thumb I've learned is to read first and then decide. BUT YOU CAN'T HAVE TOO MUCH POWER.

Other's who know way more then me will chime in good luck with the hunt.

Cheers
    Roger
  • I would imagine that room is very lively. I would look for an Avr with an advanced auto eq, perhaps one from Anthem, the MRX line. Not knowing your budget it is difficult to make a recommendation. There are many amps to choose from, but look for brands such as parasound, and b&k. Outlaw is nice if your looking for a new amp that offers a great value.