Polk vs. Klipsch speakers????

Frak601
Frak601 Posts: 13
edited December 2006 in Speakers
I am new to Home Theater, and am currently setting up my first dedicated HT room, 13' X 23'.............I am starting ground up, a new TV, Theater Seats, Receiver, Speakers,etc........I have been trying to decide on speakers......I have never owned Polk Speakers, and I live in an area where there are not alot of options to go out and listen to them in store. I have been considering this Polk Setup.....2 RTi12 Floorstands, CSi5 Center, FXi5 surrounds and a PSW505Sub............I would like opinions on this setup and if possible, any opinions on the type of sounds Polk speakers produce as compared to Klipsch, which I was also considering but have seen alot of people who say they are harsh and too bright??? I am planning on powering with a Marantz SR7001 receiver (110W X 7). Thanks for any help and opinions.
Post edited by Frak601 on

Comments

• lanion
    lanion Posts: 843
    edited December 2006
    Klipsch uses horn tweeters which are very effecient, meaning they will sound very good on a low powered reciever. They also have something of a monopoly on high end speakers at Best Buy, so I think their prices are a bit inflated because of that.
    I would encourage you to check out some of the direct distrubtion companies, like Aperion Audio (http://www.aperionaudio.com/)... they have a free 30 day trial. Direct sales websites probably get you the most speaker for the money, at least if you are set on buying new.

For the subwoofer, purchase a subwoofer from either Hsu Research (www.hsuresearch.com) or SVS ( www.svsound.com ) They completly dominate the affordable subwoofer market when it comes to quality. I don't think you will find anyone who will disagree with that statement.

Also, where do you live? You might be able to find some club polk members in your area who could give you a demo.
    My Iron Man training/charity blog.

HT: