1.2 TL mods

Options
stubby
stubby Posts: 723
edited October 2002 in Speakers
I guess this question is more or less for raife1. I remember reading that you modified your 1.2TL's crossover and thought the results were worth the effort.
What exactly did you change/modify? I thought about trying it myself, I'm no electronics expert but surely it couldn't be that hard. Any help would be appreciated.

Stubby
SRS 3.1TL
Harman Kardon Citation 5.1
Anthem AVM2

Post edited by stubby on

Comments

• har_navalta
    har_navalta Posts: 957
    edited October 2002
    Options
    raife1,

Please share to us whatever the improvements you did to your
    1.2TL's. As in stubby's question...I too will be interested in modifying my 1.2TL's.

Har
  • axeman
    axeman Posts: 170
    edited October 2002
    Options
    Yea Raife, I would like to know too. I thought you said something about putting Mylar caps in them or something to that effect.

Joe
  • DarqueKnight
    DarqueKnight Posts: 6,765
    edited October 2002
    Options
    1. Prior to upgrade, do a few hours of critical listening with well-recorded LP's and CD's. Take very detailed notes with regard to instrument placement in the soundstage, general dimensions of the soundstage, subtle musical details, and the realism of sound as compared to live performances. Make diagrams of the apparent placement of instruments and vocals within the soundstage.

2. Order Crossover Schematic from Polk Customer Service.

3. Study schematic and make a parts list of items to be replaced.

4. Take accurate measurements of crossover circuit board and measurements of stock crossover components (electrolytic capacitors, mylar capacitors, and cermet resistors).

5. Check parts vendors online catalogs for required parts. Pay particular attention to the dimensions of potential replacement parts. You want to make sure everything will fit on the circuit board.