New Ht Receivers and Old power amps,any lose in Sound quality

faster100
faster100 Posts: 6,124
edited September 2002 in Electronics
Ok i am new to Club polk, My second post
I have a integra DTR 7.1 receiver and just bought a used Onkyo M-504 power amp. What i want to know is? Do you lose sound quality useing old/older power amps hooked through your new gereration Ht receivers? I have this hooked up through my receivers pre-outs that i am glad it has for this reason, Any idea's would be great!! Thanks
MY HT RIG:
Sherwood p-965
Sherwood sd871 dvd
Rotel 1075 amp x5
LSI15 mains
LsiC center
LSIfx surround backs
Lsi7 side surrounds
SVS pb12/plus2

2 Channel Rig:

nad 1020 Pre-amp
Rotel 1080 stereo amp
Polk sda 2B
kenwood grunt Tuner
realistic lab 450 TT
Signal cable IC
Post edited by faster100 on

Comments

• mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,032
    edited September 2002
    I prefer a preamp over using a receiver as a pre amp.Its up to you if you want to go that route.If you feel the seperate amp has better sound quality , then do it.Use good Quality interconnects and off you go.

A good way to test the 2 amps against each other would be the following.......Run a song in 2 channel stereo and listen to the receivers amp first.Then rewire and try the seperate amp.Do this a couple times to hear the sound difference better or worse and figure what one you like best.

The only thing that comes into play is when you want to do Home Theater.Then you can have a tonal shift across the front soundstage if thats where the amp will power/live.

Id like to hear your views on this..I have done this test many times.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
  • faster100
    edited September 2002