New to the Forum & pending L800 Owner

Options
kevinB66
kevinB66 Posts: 3
Greetings and thank you for going easy on me with my first post. I am not a newbie when it comes to both modern and vintage audio but I always have more to learn.

I may already know the answer to my question, but I will risk ridicule and ask anyway.

My audio room is small; 12”x12”. I really have my heart set on the L800s. I know Polk recommends at least 3’ from the speakers to the side wall.

Can I get away with using the L800 if I install sound absorption panels to reduce reflections?

I’m running a Musical Fidelity M6 Preamp and Power Amp.

Appreciate you letting me post here and for putting up with a Polk Newbie.

PS, if the SDA is impacted, does that mean the L800s will sound awful?

Regards,

Kevin

Comments

• Emlyn
    Emlyn Posts: 4,377
    Options
    Welcome!

The L800s would still work but the impact of the dimensional arrays at the ears wouldn't be ideal. Each speaker is 18 inches wide so a pair fills 3 feet of front wall space. If the speakers are placed 6 feet apart the amount of space from the speakers to the side walls would be 1.5 feet. You may be able to have the speakers 5 feet apart to leave 2 feet to each side wall. Polk recommends the speakers be 6 to 8 feet apart as optimum but 5 feet would be acceptable but that affects how far away you should sit from them.

Acoustic panels on the side walls may help some.

The L800s are unique in the audio world but for some situations the L600s are a better choice.
  • pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,617
    Options
    While you have some good gear, to sound their best speakers need room to breathe. You may not get their full potential in that room .
  • bcwsrt
    bcwsrt Posts: 1,617
    Options
    You came to the right place. These guys will give you the best, easy-to-understand advice. We were all newbies, once.

Brian