Wayne's Audio Outer Ring & Clamp

I recently acquired the Wayne's Audio outer ring and clamp for my Technics SL-1210M5G and was impressed by the improvement. Mostly talking about the outer ring, but the clamp is an awesome piece as well. I've been using Joe's, Vulcan Death Grip Clamp for several years now, but the one I got from WA is very nice. It doubles as a clamp and has some heft to it at 2lbs.

Anyway, it's the outer ring I think that makes the most remarkable difference and it isn't subtle either. I immediately noticed better, tighter bass, more air between the instruments which produced a bigger & better sound stage and the sound is much more focused.

Anyone else own & use an outer ring on your table and have similar results? They're a bit pricey, but worth every penny IMHO. Both of these pieces are quite weighty, but haven't affected the speed on my Technics. It rock solid still at 33.3rpm.

I'll post some actual images later. Keiko's been having some lower back issues for the past couple weeks and I just got the 2023 remaster of Aja that I still haven't spun yet. Regardless of this back ache I wanna spin this album asap and will take the opportunity then to take some pics.

For now here is the link from Wayne's Audio for anyone interested.

https://www.waynesaudio.com/shop

Cheers!

Comments

• tratliff
    tratliff Posts: 1,700
    I have both a clamp and weight for my TT. I mostly use the weight but get the clamp out on problem records. Like you said that outer ring is pricy. I don’t have one and always wondered how it would impact playback.
    2 Channel Rosso Fiorentino Volterra II, 2 REL Carbon Limited, Norma Revo IPA-140B, Lumin U2 Mini, VPI Prime w/SoundSmith Zephyr MIMC, Modwright PH 150, Denon DP-59l w/Denon DL-301MKII, WAY Silver 3 Ana+ Speaker Cables, WAY Silver 4+ Interconnect Cables, AudioQuest Niagara 7000 w/Dragon and Hurricane Power Cables
  • Toolfan66
    Toolfan66 Posts: 17,169
    What outer ring did you get?
  • stangman67