Finally pulled the trigger......

I am a planner and a researcher. Many times in my audio journey I talk for a long time about future plans. I have been talking about the Pass Labs XA25 amplifer pretty much since it was released in 2017. I recently revamped my office rig with a new integrated amp/dac. New Polk R200's and Pangea stands, and a plethora of new cables. All in about $2K or so. Then came the purely impulse purchase of Polk Audio L600's at a ridiculous discount. I had been searching for an 8' pair of bi-wire MIT Shotgun speaker cables, those came about as well.

I bought a new 2023 GTI in May of this year, took care of some house maintenance and took the girlfriend on a trip. So all the boxes are checked and next on the list was to replace my wonderful Pass Labs Aleph 30.

So I negotiated a good deal and have in transit a Pass Labs XA25 only 1 year old. In many ways an extension of the philosophy of simpler is better and in the same vein as the original Aleph 3 and then the Aleph 30 and finally the Aleph J (a Firstwatt product).

It's won many awards and accolades and uses a new type of power MosFet. 2 of these output devices per channel. 25 wpc into 8 ohms, 100 wpc into 2 ohms and stable down to 0.5 ohms. Max output is 200wpc. The biggest thing is the elimination of degenerative source resistance, which is a type of feedback that masks the output signal.

Still heavily biased in class A but has an A/B element when demand calls. It dissipates 240watts at idle and runs as warm at the Aleph.

I will be comparing it to the Aleph 30 and if it sounds better to my ears, I'll be moving the Aleph 30 along.

Such simple design = more musical purity.

9th5olp8yv6v.jpg

degi5jnqlsjl.jpg

lbepf8i6knnx.jpg

H9