Anybody into wood fired pizza at home?

My wife and I have been enjoying the delicious pizzas she's been making using homemade dough and fresh ingredients. We're thinking about how to make wood fired pies. Any experience?

Comments

• scubalab
    scubalab Posts: 3,101
    I've been considering this for a few years now. We do pizzas every couple weeks using King Arthur Flour's recipe for the dough. I use their "Grandma's Pizza" pan and recipe for some fantastic thick and crispy pizzas.

We looked into the wood fire pizza oven kits from local landscape companies but cannot justify the prices ($6k - well, the sky's the limit) as well as the large footprint, and the limited use it would get (having to build a fire, get it hot, and having to work outside in often freezing temps). I looked into building my own, but I'm a perfectionist and do not think I could do it right with the limited time and funds I would have for it. There are some really nice propane fired pizza ovens, but even the cheap ones are a bit pricey for the one or two times a month we'd use it.

We just use our oven at 500 degrees with a pizza stone. I still haven't perfected prepping the pizza quick enough so that it doesn't stick to the counter or peel, if I'm making a freeform pizza (and not using the pan).

The dough recipe (using 00 flour, olive oil, water, yeast, and the pizza dough flavor additive from King Arthur) is fantastic. Homemade sauce is obviously THE way to go, but we've found that Rao's makes some really good pre-made pizza sauces. We've also just used San Marzano peeled tomatoes with some additional spices with great results for the sauce. The cheese is where we have fun. We've done anything from the standard Mozzarella/Provolone/Parmesan blend to unlimited mix recipes including the standards, sharp American, regular American, sharp Provolone, Monterey Jack, Cheddar, and even Queso!