Benchmark LA4 preamp and AHB2 power amplifier review

124»

Comments

• JayDog
    JayDog Posts: 266
    Solid review thread, thanks for the info, everybody over at ASR is freaking out about the Benchmark amp and how it tested.
  • Clipdat
    Clipdat Posts: 12,557
    Measurements are a useful data point, but hearing is believing. In this case, the measurements correlate directly to the listening experience.
  • maxward
    maxward Posts: 1,490
    Apparently, Paul Seydor of The Absolute Sound shares your opinion of Benchmark equipment, Drew.
  • Clipdat
    The LA4 and AHB2 deserve every bit of praise that they get!
  • JayDog
    They have been sold out for the last month, I think they are back in stock now. Clipdat I was hoping you would say "its a nice amp but not much better then a Parasound A21 ". This way I can get this amp out of my mind and move on.

I have been avoiding ASR for a couple months because of its test results and all the buzz this amp has been generating, I like to spend money and hearing reviews like this all over the place is what makes it even harder, So thanks..I think :D
  • Clipdat
    IIRC, you have a mixed use system, correct? I wouldn't upgrade from the A21 to the AHB2 for this use case.
  • JayDog
    edited January 2021
    Your right, I need to get back on the golf course and on the water soon, Spring seems like it is never going to get here.
    I think its a mix of cabin fever and upgraditis, I sit and read these wonderful reviews and well.. enough said.. thanks!
  • Clipdat
    I'll have more reviews coming soon for you to read!

In the mean time, enjoy the A21, it's a fine amplifier!
  • jdjohn
    jdjohn Posts: 2,987
    How about a Benchmark DAC3/HGC as a pre into a McCormack DNA power amp? Do you think the AHB2 would be an improvement there? :)