Monitor 70 power handling

pyro5ive
pyro5ive Posts: 12
Hello. I have an emotiva 275 watts RMS per channel (@ 8 ohm load) amp. I put my oscope on the output on my amp and played 1 khz tone. I've witnessed that this amp starts to clip at about 55v (378watts correct?) but I noticed it has a limiter that kicks in and keeps the voltage below 55v if I continue to turn up the volume knob. so I know im working with a clean unclipped signal.

Ok so my question is how well will the Monitor 70 series II handle the power? I know a lot will say "listen for the symptoms of an over driven speaker" . Im not good at that. I might crank up the volume and walk away. my wife may do the same and she is def not going listen for signs. I would rather more of a black and white answer or at least a good reference.

So someone please clarify the *continuous * *many hours in a jam session* power handling capabilities. I see the vague specs the Monitor 70 says 20-275 watts. Does that mean I can
keep my power levels to 275 watts and not worry about cooking the speakers ? Or does it mean I might only get away with a few mins of 275watts of power and then burn out ? or should I choose another speaker if Im looking for that kind of power ?

Thanks. Steve

Comments

• BlueFox
    BlueFox Posts: 15,251
    When the speaker starts clipping and/or distorting then it has reached its limit with the amp. Generally, the more power the amp has the louder the speakers can play before distorting. However, at some point all speakers reach their limit.
    Lumin X1 file player, Westminster Labs interconnect cable
    Sony XA-5400ES SACD; Pass XP-22 pre; X600.5 amps
    Magico S5 MKII Mcast Rose speakers; SPOD spikes

Shunyata Triton v3/Typhon QR on source, Denali 2000 (2) on amps
    Shunyata Sigma XLR analog ICs, Sigma speaker cables
    Shunyata Sigma HC (2), Sigma Analog, Sigma Digital, Z Anaconda (3) power cables

Mapleshade Samson V.3 four shelf solid maple rack, Micropoint brass footers