TSi300 not pairing well to Onkyo 8020

Options
I’m fairly new to pairing home audio amps and speakers and I’m trying to understand why the two TSi300 speakers that I just bought don’t sound good on my Onkyo8020 receiver. The speakers sounded great on the Denon receiver in the home of the person I bought them from. Any ideas?

Comments

• afterburnt
    afterburnt Posts: 7,892
    Options
    Your room and or placement are somethings to consider but there are many other possibilities too.
  • marvda1
    marvda1 Posts: 4,871
    Options
    maybe the denon just sounds better than the onkyo :)
    Amplifiers: Norma IPA 140, MasterSound Compact 845, Ayre v6xe, Consonance Cyber 800
    Preamp: deHavilland Ultraverve 3
    Dac: Sonnet Morpheus 2, Musical Paradise mp-d2 mkIII
    Transport: Jay's Audio CDT2 mk2, Lumin U1 mini
    Speakers: Rosso Fiorentino Volterra II
    Speaker Cables: Organic Audio Organic Reference 2
    Interconnects: Argento Organic Reference 2, Argento Organic 2
    Power Cables: Argento Organic Reference, Synergistic Research Foundation 10 and 12 ga.
    Puritan PSM156
  • afterburnt
    Options
    Yeah, that too.
  • FelipeJR
    FelipeJR Posts: 4
    Options
    I was thinking that the Onkyo receiver being 50watts per channel is the problem.
    Also the receiver only allows for 4 or 6 ohms, and the Polk Audio speakers are 8 ohms.
    The receiver is 100 dB so I know that this means that the receiver will require less wattage to power the speakers.

The Onkyo manual says to use the 6 ohms setting when using 8 ohms speakers. Not sure if this limitation is causing the speakers to not sound great?
  • afterburnt
    Options
    That's odd, no 8 ohm rating?
  • FelipeJR
    Options
    afterburnt wrote: »
    That's odd, no 8 ohm rating?

Only 4 and 6 ohms. My klipsch bookshelf speakers sound great on it. It’s a much smaller speaker so I’m wondering if the ohm limitation is causing the issue...