Polk SDA2B "turbulence"

Hi everyone. I'm new to Polk speakers, recently acquiring a pair of SDA2B. After a day or so of listening, I've observed some issues that I hope those with more experience can comment on.
1) They seem quite bright to me. I've read that replacing the tweeters with the RDO-194 will tame this brightness somewhat. Thoughts?
2) While listening to some newer bass heavy (electronic) music at higher levels, the mid drivers started to "flap" violently during low frequency passages, seemingly exceeding their excursion limits. Has anyone experienced this? Am I simply over-driving them?
The amps I've used are both Carvers, M1.0t (200wpc) and pm1.5 (450wpc). No subwoofer. The room is quite large, speakers about 8' apart, 3-4 feet from one wall and double that length from the other wall.

Thanks.

Comments

• heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,053
    edited March 2019
    1) yes and you should upgrade all the caps and resistors too.

2) you need more power (you're over driving your amplifier) to listen at that level or lay off the heavy electronic music.

H9
    "Appreciation of audio is a completely subjective human experience. Measurements can provide a measure of insight, but are no substitute for human judgment. Why are we looking to reduce a subjective experience to objective criteria anyway? The subtleties of music and audio reproduction are for those who appreciate it. Differentiation by numbers is for those who do not".--Nelson Pass Pass Labs XA25 | EE Avant Pre | EE Mini Max Supreme DAC | MIT Shotgun S1 | Pangea AC14SE MKII | Legend L600 | BlueSound Node 3 - Tubes add soul!
  • JPete
    JPete Posts: 295
    The tweeter upgrade is a definite improvement over the SL2000s.

I've never bottomed out the midranges on any of the old Polks. Have you checked to make sure there isn't any voice coil rubbing going on? Are the cabinets sealed well?
    Lexicon RT-10, Parasound P5, McCormack DNA 0.5, Polk SDA CRS+, SVS Sub