I have some 5jr+ Series 2 and I want to recap, where can I get parts?

As the title says, I have a set of Series 2 5jr+ with what appears to be the SL2500 tweeters. I want to upgrade the tweets as well as recap but I am new to all of this and have no idea what to use, could someone point me in the right direction? These speakers sound wonderful already but I want to get them to their full potential.

Comments

• pitdogg2
    pitdogg2 Posts: 24,477
    edited August 2018
    Polk sells an upgraded tweeter, it's the RD-0198. Tell them your a forum member for a discount.
    As for the capacitors we have had tremendous success with Sonicaps or Clarity caps. The resistors we recommend vishay-mills 12 watt and use the same resistance value that is currently in the speaker.

Use the search fuction it should come back with many links of others projects
    Post edited by pitdogg2 on
  • mlistens03
    mlistens03 Posts: 2,767
    If your on a tight budget, you can use Dayton caps instead of the above, but if you go for the Sonicaps, your ears will thank you.
  • pitdogg2
    mlistens03 wrote: »
    If your on a tight budget, you can use Dayton caps instead of the above, but if you go for the Sonicaps, your ears will thank you.

The lower end of the clarity caps are just a few dollars more than the Daytons and much smoother. IIRC they are called px series
  • mlistens03
    pitdogg2 wrote: »

The lower end of the clarity caps are just a few dollars more than the Daytons and much smoother. IIRC they are called px series

Oh really?
    Never mind then.
  • westmassguy
    westmassguy Posts: 6,850
    Polk sells an upgraded tweeter, it's the RD-0198. Tell them your a forum member for a discount.
    As for the capacitors we have had tremendous success with Sonicaps or clarity caps. The resistors we recommend MILLS, vishay-mills 12 watt and use the same RESISTANCE value that is currently in the speaker.