Understanding the crossover filtration on the RTi12

Starting to mod my old rti12's , one had popped a tweeter, not sure if from a amp clip or just flat out over powered them . Regardless I'm going to try a few different new tweets in them from dayton and peerless/typhany . While into the speaker i figured i would go ahead and update the crossover with better caps, inductors, and resisters.
I'm far from a electrical engineer but have a decent understanding of crossover componants and what not. Ive built a few diy speaker projects and used bassbox pro 6 and xover pro 3 software to design and simulate with excellent results. Unfortantly the pc that had the software on it died and i cant find the cd's .( Moved twice since i got the software). Anyway i managed to get a schematic of the rti12 xo and there are a few things in it that i dont understand such as its topography especially on the mids has me confused on exactly why polk used certain values and that the filtering doesnt seem to follow linkwitz/riley , bessel, or butterworth or even cheybyscheff architecture . I would just like to understand the why and how of the architecture better . The tweeter is padded down clearly but uses a near cheybyscheff type 12db xo which should be causing a slight db gain just above the xo point .

Maybe some of the more tech savy guys here can help me understand some of this midrange xo , maybe some of it is impedence stablization or something. The 220uf cap followed by a 1.3mh coil in series is really confusing with a Q way out there!

Below is the xo schematic and what info i could find on the drivers minus the tweet. Anyone got software that will model this ? Or understand what polk did here? And thanks and sorry for the long first post lol

x432f4vwco0y.jpg

nckeld4f1lmo.jpg

r56yyfguica4.jpg

Comments