Need help with a NAS

halo
halo Posts: 5,616
Hey everyone!

I'm going to start off by letting you all know I'm not super tech savvy when it comes to computer systems.

That said, I've been toying with the idea of using an old notebook PC as a NAS. I can also use an old desktop PC but the laptop has a newer and faster processor (i5 vs Dual Core Pentium from '09).

Basically, what I would like to have in the finished product, is a NAS that houses all my media, music and movies. I have all my music (CD library) ripped to FLAC files. I have an Apple Music subscription & a Tidal subscription and I have music on iTunes that I'd like to access as well. I haven't ripped all my DVD's to a hard drive yet. I have JRiver installed on the laptop. The laptop & desktop are both running Windows 7 and I have no desire to switch to Windows 10.

I don't know beans about LINUX but I'm sure I can learn. I know it's been suggested that a RPi would be very good as a server but I still need the NAS to store all the files.

I have several external HDDs that are powered. Some are Green drives that spool up when you access them. They're all made by Fantom and they come in various storage capacities.

I can connect them via USB to a hub which is then connected to the laptop or desktop.

This doesn't have to be a permanent solution but if I can utilize what I already own, that'd be ideal.

If you have any questions I'll do my best to answer. Any advice or suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Lastly, I really like my ELAC Discovery streamer. The SQ is fantastic w/o a DAC. However, I cannot access all my music with Roon essentials especially my iTunes library or my Apple Music acct. My SONOS Connect has no issues accessing ALL of my music files but the fidelity isn't as good as the Discovery and I have to use it with a DAC to = the SQ of the analog outs on the Discovery.
Audio: Polk S15 * Polk S35 * Polk S10 * SVS SB-1000 Pro