DIY Ultrasonic Record Cleaning Machine

[Deleted User]
[Deleted User] Posts: 0
edited April 2016 in DIY, Mods & Tweaks
So a couple months ago at a audio show here in Denver I came across a guy that was selling these ultrasonic record vibrator deals. I couldn't afford the price, but I was sold on the whole ultrasonic cleaning idea.
Since I work as a welder I thought I'd build my own. After a month worth of lunch breaks I came up with this contraption. It's a fairly basic design and mimics some of the other custom units that I've seen on the interweb.
On one end of this I used a piece of solid steel round stock. That I welded a 1/28" bolt on top of. Ground that done for a nice smooth finish. On top of that I have a rod end bearing with a 1/4" hole. This supports and allows the spindle to spin freely. As well as pivot up and down clearing the height of the cleaning unit when I load and unload the spindle.
On the other side I cut some 3/16"x 3" hot rolled flat bar. Layed out some mounting points for the motor, switch, and transformer.
As for the spindle I used a piece of 1/4" solid stainless round stock. Which I welded a 4" stainless disk on as a stop.
The collets are stainless pipe that I had to drill out to a 1/4" diameter. Then I just drilled and tapped them for some #8-32 set screws.
The only thing I still need to build is a stand that holds the spindle vertical. So I can safely load and unload records. I'll build that tomorrow and post some pics of that.
I've been using this all weekend and I'm totally impressed with the outcome. All those clicks and pops from before seem to have just floated away. The only other cleaning method that I feel might rival this, is one of those vacuum systems.
But as far as the "rca discwasher" that I was using before...this beats the h-e double toothpicks out of it.
So hopefully this motivates some people to save the money and build their own ultrasonic cleaning set-up. :-)