What SDA to buy

Options
polk500
polk500 Posts: 1,171
edited December 2015 in Vintage Speakers
My mission for audio in 2016 is to dive into the black hole known as SDA and all that comes with it.

The first problem is what one to buy? As I've been looking on the internet I realized that there is a lot of SDA Models out there and different variations of each and the pricing is all over the scale.

Then there's the Mod's that come with it, VR3 has for sale the Abbot crossover modifications while they look stunning especially with the window and blue lights unfortunately at this time they are beyond my means ( I'm have one daughter and the wife in University and the other one going in two years so money is a bit tight)

So I will be doing the Mod's myself as a Carpenter by trade refinishing or replacing parts of the cabinets, grills, rings is going to be fun, Electronics well I know the basics and look forward to learning more.

So for you owners and modder are you satisfied with the ones you have if not what Model do you have would you have got or have gotten?

Thanks
Roger

Comments

• gudnoyez
    gudnoyez Posts: 8,078
    edited December 2015
    Options
    I own 2.3TLS, 2B studios, and a pair of CRS+s the later two will get the TL treatment I say look for a pair you can TL with the RDO 198s but if they rarely come available in your area get any if you can. It's weird I had 4 pair of SDA'S at one time.

I looked frantically for over a year to find none and all of a sudden they were selling like crazy besides the 4 I owned, I have passed on a pair of 2.3 non tls, another pair of CRs+s and recently a pair of the older SDA 2s with two tweeters was available not sure if those sold or not the others didn't hang around long but the ones with two tweeters were on Craigslist for over 2 months not sure if the guy was able to sell them or not he was asking two much for them. Good luck in your search, you got a pair of Gimpods boards to use B)
    Home Theater