Ampex 351-2 restoration project

Hello,
I've recently begun restoring a classic Ampex 351-2 studio tape recorder that I've been collecting parts for over 10 years. Slowly accumulating NOS motors, head blocks frames, etc. This type of deck was used by countless recording studios to record every type of music you could imagine. The sound of Elvis, Frank, Hank Williams, Miles Davis and hundreds of other icons were captured by decks similar to this one. It was only after convincing myself that I had gathered enough experience with other pieces of gear that I would begin this project.
The 351 electronics is vacuum tube based with a 6X4 as rectifier and 12AX7 and 12AU7 used for the gain stages. I have three of these chassis and have rebuilt the power supply of the one I've shown.
In order to work on the bulky transport I made a rough rack frame on wheels so I can turn it around easily. The upper mechanism is the 351, the lower is another project a Scully 280B which is a solid state classic machine. The final version will go in a nice rack with the associated electronics.
Regards, Keno34yylos4a2q.jpg
stol5r37ypym.jpg
gdptszan61fa.jpg
m4g6thumi2vk.jpg

Comments

• madmax
    madmax Posts: 12,434
    That is really cool! I'm sure it will be a quality restoration by the time you are done with it!
    Vinyl, the final frontier...

Avantgarde horns, 300b tubes, thats the kinda crap I want... :D
  • Awesome project. If you still need any parts shoot me a pm. The person who sold me my Revox had one with a few spares.
  • mhardy6647
    mhardy6647 Posts: 32,926
    edited November 2015
    Ken, not encouraging you to compete with the Tape Project or anything, but if you ever get the urge to make some dupes of any "safety copies" of any two-track master tapes you might have... well... be sure to let us know! ;- )