PC to Squeezebox to DAC

Options
Alright, I'm on the hunt. I'll wait until tax/bonus season, but this will be the reward for myself. I'm looking for a DAC for the Squeezebox. I almost wonder if I should do the power supply upgrade first, or instead. I'm running the box into my sc-25 and then into a gfa-7000. The amp is on my shortlist to upgrade, but I think overall I can get improvement before in the chain. Do you guys with LSi9's think a 'brighter' DAC would be the way to go? Honestly I'm new to this end of the game, so any help/discussion would be wonderful. Let er' rip!

Comments

• AsSiMiLaTeD
    AsSiMiLaTeD Posts: 11,722
    Options
    It all depends on how you're running the SC-25. It's an important detail most people miss, but unless you're running in pure direct mode on the AVR the DAC isn't really going to make a big difference because the receiver is still using its internal processing to Apply the calibration settings. Keep in mind that Direct mode and Pure Direct aren't the same thing, only pure direct bypasses all the internal processing inside the AVR.

Even with that said, the Touch already has a good sounding DAC in the AKM chip, I did both and the power supply upgrade made a much more noticeable change so that's what I'd recommend.
  • codyc1ark
    codyc1ark Posts: 2,530
    edited December 2014
    Options
    I always run pure direct, it just sounds so good. I'll look at supplies, hopefully I can find a used one.

On a completely different note, I bought my brother a mechanical Logitech g710+ keyboard for christmas, and of course I have to test it. Needless to say, I might have one myself soon. :smiley: (Its the small things in life that matter)
  • AsSiMiLaTeD
    Options
    I actually just picked up my second Corsair mechanical keyboard, I went with the K70 RGB model with the Cherry Reds and I really like it.
  • rooftop59
    rooftop59 Posts: 7,971
    Options