Music Server options

Options
2»

Comments

• thejck
    thejck Posts: 849
    Options
    I was looking at a rasbery pi to replace the pc and reduce the excess noise that a PC makes and came across something that I have no experience before. an I2s bus instead of using USB. Has anyone played with this on here if it actully makes a big difference vs a quality USB dac?
  • tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,906
    Options
    thejck wrote: »
    I was looking at a rasbery pi to replace the pc and reduce the excess noise that a PC makes and came across something that I have no experience before. an I2s bus instead of using USB. Has anyone played with this on here if it actully makes a big difference vs a quality USB dac?

I think your barking up the wrong tree on that one. A separate dac will be light years ahead of that thing....which isn't built for audio anyway.

How about we start from the beginning. Obviously there is something you don't like about your sound. Elaborate some on that please.

Your streaming from the computer ? Or hard wired with a usb connection ? Are you using ITunes to store your music or some other program ? What are you using to burn the music to your computer ?

You asked questions in another thread of which I responded as to your gear. Both of these will run hand in hand so maybe like I said, lets start at the beginning and tell us what your hearing and don't like.

HT SYSTEM-
    Sony 850c 4k
    Pioneer elite vhx 21
    Sony 4k BRP
    SVS SB-2000
    Polk Sig. 20's
    Polk FX500 surrounds

Cables-
    Acoustic zen Satori speaker cables
    Acoustic zen Matrix 2 IC's
    Wireworld eclipse 7 ic's
    Audio metallurgy ga-o digital cable

Kitchen

Sonos zp90
    Grant Fidelity tube dac
    B&k 1420
    lsi 9's
  • thejck
    thejck Posts: 849
    Options