Just got my first taste of high(er) end speaker cables...

Options
HTguru1982
HTguru1982 Posts: 1,066
So recently, Pepster hooked me up with some Nordost Flatline speaker cables to try out. I have been using Monster Ultra 600 THX cables for the last 4 years and was always pretty happy with them, especially for how little I paid for them. The Nordosts are considerably more expensive but still within the realm of affordability, for most. $200-$300, which unfortunately is more than my significant other will let me spend on cables. Gonna be sad when I send them back :(

So how do they sound? Well, they smoke the Monsters - just a better cable period. I've gone back and forth between the two, and there is simply more detail to be had with the Nordost. When I hooked the Monsters back up, it seemed like I put a blanket over the speakers. I don't know how I lived with these cables for so long lol.

Unfortunately for me, the Nordost cables are out of my price range. After I send these back to Pep, I'll be looking for something better albeit more affordable. Can anyone recommend something in the sub $100 range?
Display: Sony 42" LCD
Sources: Harman Kardon DVD-27,
Panasonic DMP-BDT110 blu ray player
AVR: Sony STR-DA2400ES
Amps: Sonance Sonamp 260(fronts),
Kenwood KM-894(surrounds)
Fronts: NHT 2.5
Center: NHT VS-1.2A
Surrounds: NHT Super One
Subwoofer: SVS PB10-ISD
Post edited by HTguru1982 on

Comments

• tonyb
    tonyb Posts: 32,906
    edited August 2014
    Options
    Speaker cables are tough for under 100. Heck, most of us spend that on IC'S if not double and triple that. I would suggest getting some bulk Canare wire if your budget is that tight....either use bare wire ends or terminate yourself.
    HT SYSTEM-
    Sony 850c 4k
    Pioneer elite vhx 21
    Sony 4k BRP
    SVS SB-2000
    Polk Sig. 20's
    Polk FX500 surrounds

Cables-
    Acoustic zen Satori speaker cables
    Acoustic zen Matrix 2 IC's
    Wireworld eclipse 7 ic's