My Center Channel Project

Comments

• ken brydson
    ken brydson Posts: 8,638
    edited July 2013
    Well it's a little late for that. What's the reason given? I would think all the drivers acoustic centers should be inline, but I'm by no means an expert.

Could have fooled me. VERY nice work!!
  • Face
    Face Posts: 14,340
    edited July 2013
    Well it's a little late for that. What's the reason given? I would think all the drivers acoustic centers should be inline, but I'm by no means an expert.
    Actually, it depends. There is no simple answer.
    "He who fights with monsters should look to it that he himself does not become a monster. And when you gaze long into an abyss the abyss also gazes into you." Friedrich Nietzsche
  • westmassguy
    westmassguy Posts: 6,850
    edited July 2013
    Could have fooled me. VERY nice work!!
    Thanks Ken
    Home Theater/2 Channel:
    Front: SDA-2ATL forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/143984/my-2as-finally-finished-almost/p1
    Center: Custom Built forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/150760/my-center-channel-project/p1
    Surrounds & Rears: Custom Built forum.polkaudio.com/discussion/151647/my-surround-project/p1
    Sonicaps, Mills, RDO-194s-198s, Dynamat, Hurricane Nuts, Blackhole5
    Pioneer Elite VSX-72TXV, Carver PM-600, SVS PB2-Plus Subwoofer

dhsspeakerservice.com/
  • westmassguy
    edited July 2013
    Face wrote: »
    Actually, it depends. There is no simple answer.
    If you could elaborate a bit, it might help the next guy that builds one. I've seen center speakers with the tweeters raised, but also with everything inline. I could raise it up a bit, however the lower screw holes would then be exposed, and the plastic trim might interfere with the grill cutout. The Tweeter is surface mounted. The lip on the back side of the plastic face plate was ground off, so it sits about an 1/8" high.
    Home Theater/2 Channel: