Wrong mating of cable/amp/receiver? = brightness

Options
danger boy
danger boy Posts: 15,722
edited May 2003 in Speakers
This isn't a review, just some general observations that i've noticed today when I got some new Monster Z2 biwires that arrived today.

First off... i got a great deal on b-stock Monster Z2 biwires. Very happy about that. The cables arrived today. I knew what to expect... they are 15ft very sturdy and heavy cables. It came with those skinny **** gold pins... I've never used them before on any of my gear.. so I thought what the hell, I'll try em out.

@%^&*)+

Anyway. I get them connected.. and fired everything up. Right away i notice a more open upper end to everything. It's like wow.. this is nice. Before I was using Monster XP biwired speaker wire. Now I had an actual biwire cable.. I'm thinking cool. Right on!

I should back up and tell you two weeks ago.. i added a Adcom GFA5400 amp (125wpc) for the mains. Cool. Love that amp to death. It helped with the front soundstage a little.. that little extra umph it needed. It also added a little brightness.. not much, but it was nice. Well today when the Monster Z2 arrives.. after hooking it all up.. the biwire cables really opened up the highs.. to open as a matter of fact.

Yes I like clean highs as well as the next guy. But now the highs are nearly to bright. A little upper end brightness I can live with.. but the combanation of the Monster Z2's and the Adcom don't mate well IMO. Now i'm fighting to much brightness in mostly stereo listening. Movies in DTS and DD, DPL sound really great.. the added brightness while watching a DVD is not to harsh at all. It added what was missing. I'm hearing things in the upper end that i've been missing for a while.