Separate amps for mains and center channel.

nellis8166
nellis8166 Posts: 292
hello people,
general question about amps and receivers. right now my entire system runs off my HK AVR525. the HK has pre-amp outs for all channels. i'm new at this, but could i get separate a separate amp or amps to run my LSI9's and LSIC??? Would I just have to run rca type cables from the hk's pre-amp outs to the separate amps. I assume I would then just run the speaker wire from the separate amps to speaks???
I love my HK, but I like to listen to things very loud and I have to push the HK hard, it's never failed or broke a sweat for that matter but how long can it keep that up??? I imagine the LSI's would sound better with more power as well???
what should i run for wattage into the LSI's???
Has anybody done something similar to this???
One more question, what are good power amps that will not cost me an arm and a leg, if there is such a thing.
Sorry to ask so many questions, I really appreciate everybody's help!!!

regards,
nat
RTi10
CSi5
RTi28
SVS PB12-ISD2

Denon 2106(pre/pro)
Adcom 5503(200x3)

Audioquest Diamondback ICS
Kimber Kable 8tc biwire(mains and center)

"Don't let your silly dreams fall in between the crack of the bed and the wall."
-J. James
Post edited by nellis8166 on

Comments

• phuz
    phuz Posts: 2,372
    edited January 2003
    Hi, I've done pretty much exactly what you are talking about for 2ch audio. I still use my HK AVR-510 to drive my center and rear speakers, but I use a seperate Rotel amp to drive my mains, and yes it is an improvment in my opinion.

You've got the right idea. A seperate amp or amps will feed your LSi's a healthy diet of good clean high current power. Your receiver is spec'd out to do handle 4 ohm loads moderately, but if you like to crank it, the LSi's have been known to dip down to 2ohms which could damage your receiver or speakers.