DIY: Tweeter and speaker pods for my SR components

Options
black magic
black magic Posts: 669
edited August 2010 in Car Audio & Electronics
Hey guys,

As you may or may not know, I've been working on making tweeter and speaker pods for my SR components for the last 3 days. I finished everything yesterday morning, but I didn't want to post anything until I listened to them for a while first.

This is my first attempt at making something like this, so the outcome wasn't the greatest but considering the circumstances, I'm still pleased with the way it turned out.

First I had to take out the a-pillars

SRInstall001.jpg

SRInstall002.jpg

SRInstall003.jpg

Then I had to make a mold of them for the tweeter pods:

SRInstall006.jpg

SRInstall007.jpg

SRInstall009.jpg

I started making the mold using fiberglass. I just followed the instructions by mixing the hardener and resin and then I applied 3 layers of fiberglass matting:

SRInstall011.jpg

SRInstall010.jpg

SRInstall012.jpg

While waiting for the fiberglass to cure, I went to admire my SR components:

SRInstall019.jpg

*drool*

I waited until the next morning. I took the mold off the a-pillars and cut them to my desired size. As you can tell from the pictures, I used a lot of resin.

SRInstall020.jpg

SRInstall021.jpg

Then I mixed body filler and fiberglass resin/hardener to apply over the now cured fiberglass

SRInstall022.jpg

SRInstall025.jpg

I did the same to both a-pillars:

SRInstall030.jpg

While I was waiting for the mixture to dry, I started the speaker pods. I bought an extra pair of speaker grills for my Civic in case I ever wanted to go back to stock. I started by making sure they fit and cutting a small adapter for the drivers.

SRInstall093_1.jpg

SRInstall093_2.jpg

SRInstall093_3.jpg

SRInstall093_4.jpg

SRInstall094.jpg