4WD Advise Requested

Sansui
Sansui Posts: 372
edited December 2007 in The Clubhouse
Before the first of the year I'm going to get a four wheel drive SUV type of car. The problem is that I don't know anything about them. I've just started doing my homework and realized that the Toyota Rav4 is about the size and price range I'm interested in. I'm not to "hot" on whatever Ford is selling because of the recent "tire track record".

With the snows coming in January I don't want to be in a position where my Cavalier can't get me where I might need to go. I also feel that I'll be safer driving in snow/ice type of weather. I will not be "climbing mountains" or anything like that with this car, road driving only.

I'm looking for info on makes/models and what's good or bad about those models.

Would it be better for me to just write a check for it or get a loan and make payments?

Any thoughts or ideas will be appreciated!
Be gentle, I'm new to all this...

The mind blowing speed of the BRAIN TRAIN...
Post edited by Sansui on

Comments

• MillerLiteScott
    MillerLiteScott Posts: 2,561
    edited November 2007
    Sansui,

I drove the Ford Edge AWD about two weeks ago as a loaner car while my truck was in for service and I thought it was a nice and suprisingly sporty vehicle.

Scott
    I like speakers that are bigger than a small refrigerator but smaller than a big refrigerator:D
  • Serendipity
    Serendipity Posts: 6,975
    edited November 2007
    I am in the same situation. Looking for some type of 4WD car just for when it snows here.

Check out this thread:

http://www.polkaudio.com/forums/showthread.php?t=59303&highlight=Jeeps
    polkaudio RT35 Bookshelves
    polkaudio 255c-RT Inwalls
    polkaudio DSWPro550WI
    polkaudio XRT12 XM Tuner
    polkaudio RM6750 5.1

Front projection, 2 channel, car audio... life is good!
  • BaggedLancer
    BaggedLancer Posts: 6,371
    edited November 2007