Problem w/my Monitor 5 Tweeter. Please Help.

Options
laeditor
laeditor Posts: 10
edited April 2007 in Troubleshooting
Hi All,

I own a pair of Monitor 5's that I purchased new sixteen or seventeen years ago. They've been great, and never missed a beat in all that time...until now.

I'm a newbie when it comes to the technical side of speakers, so please bear with me.

It seems as if the tweeter on the right speaker has stopped working. I've done some troubleshooting to make sure that it is indeed a problem with the speaker, and not a problem with the amp or wire.

Last night, I got up real close to the speaker to listen so I could describe it to you. There is sound coming from the woofer (albeit low), but nothing from the tweeter.

If not expensive, I would be willing to try and replace the tweeter. Is that expensive, and would you recommend it? Or, is there something more I might be able to do to troubleshoot the thing.

By the way, nothing changed on my setup to cause this problem. No new equipment, no new placement of the speakers, nothing. One day it was fine, the next day, it wasn't.

Thanks for any input.

-Mike.
Post edited by laeditor on

Comments

• heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,092
    edited April 2007
    Options
    If they are older Monitor 5's then there is a fuse on the back where the terminal is. Check to make sure it's inserted correctly ,if so, then check to make sure it's not blown. If it is replace with the same rated fuse.

If there is no fuse then there is an internal protection called a "polyswitch". Overtime those can go out and need to be replaced. If you are fairly good with a soldering iron it's very easy to do. Call Polk Customer Service and I bet they will send you the poly switchs for free.

The other thing you can do is swap the tweeters from each 5b ( R to L ) and see if the problem follows the tweeter or the connection. That will tell you for sure if the tweeter is bad or something in the connection.