Wife Advice: Get her to quit her job...

jdhdiggs
jdhdiggs Posts: 4,305
edited March 2007 in The Clubhouse
Any advice on how to get my wife to quit her job? She doesn't make squat (comparitively), works crappy hours (typically one night a week at a site, another night getting home around 8PM or later. The manager of her division makes Michael Scott look competant. She constantly complains about all of these things and she has other options.

Additionally:

We don't need the money
She wants to stay home with the kids (working on it, none yet)
She wants to be a teacher (always has)
Teachers (even starting out) make significantly more than she does now

Why she says she won't quit:

Her co-workers are nice
Her direct manager is a good guy
I got a geophysics degree and don't want it to go to waste...

So basically unless she's preggers, she won't quit. Even then I'd give it maybe 50/50. (The "maybe I can work from home and just go in 1 day a week" argument has already been used)

The points I've made:
1). Do something you like and look forward to doing every day
2). Virtually any other job will give us more time together and more time for you to do the things you want
3). We should be looking for ways to spend more time together and by sticking with your job because you don't want to strand your co-workers, you're saying their feelings are more important than our relationship (yes, I was playing dirty)
4). Quit now, get the teaching certificate, get certified/experience before kids come along.

Looking for any advice and aperrantly the less logic it has the better it will probably work as the logical arguments just gets her depressed and pissed.