I need paypal help

Midnite Mick
Midnite Mick Posts: 1,591
edited January 2007 in The Clubhouse
I am new to paypal and am unsure how it works. I am about to sell something and somebody wants to pay a portion of it up front and then the remainder after. He says he doesn't know what assurances he has either. Anyway, here is the email he sent me. What do you think?

Hi Mike,

Sorry to keep you waiting. After considering several options, I have decided to take you up on the offer below if the unit is still available.

Although I am sure everything will go smoothly, I have heard others' experiences with paying and not receiving goods (I usually deal locally). Would it be possible for me to pay a portion via Paypal, and then the remainder once received? Or if you have any other ideas, let me know. (Just being cautious, I hope you understand).

Let me know if this sounds good and the 'what and how' in terms of payment you think is acceptable.

Thanks,
Dave.
Modwright SWL 9.0 SE (6Sons Audio Thunderbird PC with Oyaide 004 terminations)
Consonance cd120T
Consonance Cyber 800 tube monoblocks (6Sons Audio Thunderbird PC's with Oyaide 004 terminations)
Usher CP 6311

Phillips Pronto TS1000 Universal Remote
Post edited by Midnite Mick on

Comments

• heiney9
    heiney9 Posts: 25,160
    edited January 2007
    I'm only familiar with PayPal as it pertains to E-bay transactions and if done thru e-bay their is no option for partial payment outside of a payment plan which is essentially a line of credit extended to the buyer by PayPal. The seller gets full payment and the buyer pays in installments (not what you are looking for). Now I'm pretty sure you can set up an account with PayPal for the transfer of monies outside of E-bay transactions, but it's not going to be free. I'm sure there is a set-up fee plus all the fee's involved in the actual transaction. If this is a one time thing the fee's might be prohibitive.