MacBook or MacBook Pro Users

Demiurge
Demiurge Posts: 10,874
edited April 2007 in The Clubhouse
Well, I need a new laptop, and I am thinking of going over to the dark side. Any experience you guys have with them? Any reason I should look elsewhere? I don't really play PC games anymore. I do still write and record music, so I figure for that alone it's the right move. What's the scoop?
Post edited by Demiurge on

Comments

• SWFalken
    SWFalken Posts: 136
    edited October 2006
    I started using Apple Powerbooks in 2000. I have had a G3 400 which my wife now uses as her machine and my G4 1.25 GHz. which is my one and only machine. Both laptops have been dead reliable with no service calls or repairs needed in the 5+ years that we have had them. They are not perfect computers. My G4 is a hot running laptop with mediocre battery life at best and the PPC chipsets in them aren't the fastest that money can buy. Having said that, they both run acceptably fast, I am a Pro Photog and my computer gets worked hard constantly. The new Macbook Pros now have Intel Core Duo processors just like mainstream Windows portables and are able to run Mac OSX as well as Windows XP and Vista Natively. I have used OSX since beta and with each release it has only impressed me more. Having used most major operating systems over the 20 plus years that I have owned computers I can say without hesitation that OSX is the most productive and least intrusive OS I have had experience with. My laptop has normal uptime of around 3 weeks give or take, I never reboot!. Mac os is based on Berkley Systems Unix, so it is made to communicate, any network, any time, little to no configuration, most protocols built in. Being built on a wide distribution Unix has a lot of advantages. Owner does not run as Root by default, major advantage, no unauthorized software install where it can do real damage to file structures. In fact you must manually authorize any software install even to your home folder, that