The wire thing PT3

mantis
mantis Posts: 17,032
OK,
we all talked about the wire thing, we all voiced our opnions on the matter.The only question i think never got answered was the hard data type question's.
So at this time I would like to ask you guys a few questions.

1)Have you ever done a wire shoot out of any kind?

2)If so, what were your results?

3)Do you want to do a wire test or do you feel it's pointless?

4)What are you looking for exactly in hard data or proof that one wire is better then another?

5)With all the different brands on the market, how do you start your shopping,what do you expect from your purchase?

6)Can anyone else provide a good link to theory on wire and what makes one different from the other?
Dan
My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
Post edited by mantis on

Comments

• aaburto99
    aaburto99 Posts: 17
    edited May 2002
    I'm no expert, but isn't the purpose of speaker wire to transmit an electrical signal from an amp/receiver to the speakers with as little degradation of signal possible? That being said, would a simple measurement of the impedance of identical lengths of wire be enough to quantitatively measure wire quality? Oxygen-free wire theoretically has lower impedance, so theoretically, they would be better than run of the mill Home Depot wire. Am I wrong on this?
  • mantis
    mantis Posts: 17,032
    edited May 2002
    Are you???
    test it.
    Dan
    My personal quest is to save to world of bad audio, one thread at a time.
  • TroyD
    TroyD Posts: 13,077
    edited May 2002
    this wire things needs to DIE!!!

What wire test do you propose?

I will grant that wire can influence sound. As to how much is subjective and I doubt you would, even if you could get everyone together with the same gear be able to get a consensus.

Where could someone get thier hands on this "hard data"?? Is thier like a secret password that you need or something??

Chieftan